For your queries and concerns,Please contact on 9716-7406272,971-582743894(KG1 & KG2),9716-7424440,971-588779781(Grade 1 to 4),9716-7444327,971-559213325(Grade 5 to A Level).For BTEC,Please contact on 971-554415114. British International School – Curriculum



The Early Years Foundation Stage (FS 1 and FS 2)

The Early Years Foundation programme is for children aged four to five years of age. We create an environment that promotes a happy and confident start to school life. Throughout the year, children experience an exciting curriculum, both indoors and outdoors, designed to meet the needs of young children. Through fun, creative and play-based curriculum, each child is challenged to reach his/her individual potential.

The Early Years curriculum comprises of seven areas of learning.

3 Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Social and emotional development

4 Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2)

The Key Stage 1 programme is based on the National Curriculum for England. Children are encouraged to become independent; capable and competent learners through strong transition programs with FS2. Children in Year 1 experience a longer day than in FS, providing more opportunities to develop their personalities, natural abilities and talents.


Key Stage 2 (Year 3 to Year 6)

Students in this programme follow Key Stage 2 of the National Curriculum for England, which continues to build on the foundations that are established in Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1.

Ongoing assessment ensures that each student’s progress and development are continuous and meet predetermined standards. We encourage students to think independently, use their initiative and to participate in a meaningful and active manner in their learning process.

By the end of Year 6, we expect our students to have experienced a well-rounded education and have developed a strong character, articulate expression, confidence, and be well- prepared for their secondary education. The students write Primary checkpoint examination conducted by Cambridge International Examinations at the end of year 6.


Key Stage 3 (Year 7 to  9)

Years 7,8 and 9 known as Key Stage 3, follow the National Curriculum for England where we again emphasize on holistic development of our students and expect them to become reflective, independent learners who can take risks, collaborate well, communicate clearly and be kind, compassionate and sensitive members of an international community. Subject options are chosen at the beginning of Year 9.


Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and 11) and IGCSE Program

Key stage 4 students study the compulsory subjects English, Maths, ICT , Arabic and Islamic Studies (MOE Syllabus) and choose from the options below:

  • Physics/ Business Studies
  • Chemistry/ Accounting
  • Biology/ Economics
  • Environmental Management/French/ Urdu


Sixth Formers (AS and A level)

The focus of learning in these years is academic achievement as we prepare them for life beyond school. In AS and A level the students follow  GCE courses. A minimum of 3 subjects are to be selected. Students study Arabic and Islamic Studies (MOE Syllabus) and choose from the options below.

    • Mathematics
    • Information Technology
    • Biology / Economics
    • Physics / Business Studies
    • Accounting / Chemistry
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt